BEAUTY: Review of Macs Glasgow

By our Beauty Blogger, Louisa Power of Rara Rouge

This week I felt like I needed a little bit of ‘me time.’ The last 5 weeks of classes have been intense and this week I start my next block of clinical placement, so I thought I would treat myself to some hair pampering.

LB32-RAPUNZEL

I stumbled upon Macs Glasgow on Twitter and was instantly drawn to the range of hair and beauty treatments all of which accommodate the student pocket. I was particularly intrigued by their express hair services which incorporates a number of client tailored treatment from blow dry and go (£15.00) to a style and go (£10.00). As Crimbo party season is almost upon us (good god!) I thought I would test drive some funky party looks. Any kind of invite I get during the festive season, you better believe I will be going. I have 3 kids to escape from; I would literally go to the opening of an envelope.

Macs is situated just off Byres Road down a cute little side street. The staff were extremely welcoming and the atmosphere was very chilled. I loved that during the time I spent having my barnet done, there was not one single hairdressing cliché mentioned. The banter was intelligent and the girls seem genuinely interested in getting to know me. I often find going to a salon can be quite depersonalising at times but this was not the case here.

I had a very uplifting chat with Macs owner, Melissa. She is an extremely inspiring young woman. Despite being only 25, she has managed to build up her own business through sheer determination and backing from The Princes Trust. During the height of the recession, Melissa was made redundant 3 times and even spent some time in hospital – it was during this black hour she decided to make her own destiny.  I was in awe of her positive work ethic and kind spirit. As Melissa has done so well with her salon venture, she plans on expanding her empire. This next step is all about giving back to the community that she feels has helped her so much. Melissa is in the process of setting up a training school that is specifically aimed at helping young mums to become beauticians and run their own freelance businesses. Wowzers. Honestly, after chatting to this lady for half an hour, I was almost ready to get up on the hairdressing chair and belt out a chorus of Arethra Franklin’s ‘Sisters Are Doin It For Themselves’.

So here is my finished look! This was all achieved in 20 minutes as well.

hair 2

hair 1

I left the salon looking awesome and feeling inspired. Macs have beauty, brains and talent. My hair looked outstanding and I got numerous compliments. Macs uses Tigi products which are very high quality and as a result my hair stayed in place for 2 days after it was done. The other bonus is Tigi’s ‘Headrush’ hairspray smells very fruity and does not leave your hair feeling ridged or sticky – #winning. I would highly recommend this salon. You get some serious bang for your buck and I will most definitely be going back closer to Crimbo.

tigi-bed-head-shine-headrush-200ml

Fancy checking them out for yourself? Call Melissa on 0141 357 5511 or pop along to 15 De Courcy’s Arcade, Cresswell Lane. Glasgow, G12 8AA.

Leave a Reply

