Standing At The Intersection

By Marcus King

There’s a lot I’d rather not get off my chest

And it’s hard not to be poetic about it.

I’ve had a lot of good times so I’ll take deep breaths

And try to tell myself, “No, don’t forget about it.”

I’ve had good days and bad days

And all in all I have no regrets about it.

I don’t think I’m going home

It’s on to the next one.

I’ve reached the intersection and left footprints, handprints and fingerprints

As evidence I was here.

I’ve picked up a lot of things, maybe not an accent

Yet I “canny” believe it’s been nearly a year

Since I left what I thought home was

What I understood family to be.

When I go will they bury the books with me?

Will I dissipate within the annals of history?

Will I be insignificant, just another letter

Another word,

Another story unheard?

I want to pass on before I pass away

I want to inspire before I expire.

Yes, my life is a vapour

But I can be a breath of fresh air to someone

May my story be told for generations.

Two? Three? A thousand?

I don’t know, just more than one.

I don’t need to be a legend

And have statues built in my memory

For I have found a home and a life in eternity.

I have a book in which my name needs to be written above all else.

Yes, I know a book

A book which doesn’t fade

This is the book from which my story was made.

But I would love to be known in another generation

So let me impact this one.

And may my words ripple across nations.

Because my work was for God’s kingdom

And then let me go home

To the home I’ve longed for

To the Father I’ve stuck around for

To the life I’ve died for

And to the goal I’ve tried for.

One thought on “Standing At The Intersection

Leave a Reply

