Glasgow rocker turns fashion model for Pretty Green

McCabe stands tall in the centre of the handpicked models

By Nadine Walker

A Glasgow musician was selected to feature in a nationwide Paul Weller fashion campaign.

Christian McCabe from band The River 68’s, was chosen by the modfather to model in his Autumn/Winter campaign for Liam Gallagher’s fashion label.

The Pretty Green brand, named after the 1980 hit by Paul Weller’s band ‘The Jam’, currently features one Spring/Summer collection from Weller. He describes his collection as “English pop culture clothes that dart about the decades.”

Weller asked for headshots to be taken around the UK, including Pretty Green stores where McCabe works part time. From submitting the shots to receiving a phone call from his boss telling him the exciting news, it took a while for it all to sink in: “. When I got the call telling me I had been selected to go to London and shoot for Paul I thought it was a wind-up initially. Then people were booking hotels and I realised it was actually happening!

“I already loved Weller before the campaign, but even more so now after spending time with him. He couldn’t have been more of a gentleman. I initially had five seconds of heart palpitations when we first shook hands. Then an hour later he was buttoning my shirt and giving me his shoes and hat to wear. It was beyond surreal.

“The shoot was incredible. It was exhausting when I eventually finished.”

McCabe turned up to Glasgow’s Pretty Green store opening in January wearing a leopard print jacket, proving he has never been one to fade into the background: “I always wear loud clothes.  The irony with that day was that I didn’t even intend to go to the opening of the store that day. My band rehearsal had been cancelled so I popped down to see what all the fuss was about. Next thing I was getting interviewed for national TV. People gave me quite a bit of stick because they thought I was at the wind up with the outfit choice.”

And as for the musician-turned-model’s fashion ethos? “As long as the hair stays intact and the shoes are polished them I’m happy.”

McCabe’s band, The River 68’s, are heading to Rockfield Studios in December to finish their record. McCabe said of the project: “Bohemian Rhapsody and Definitely Maybe were recorded in these studios so it’s going to be very inspiring.”

The band aims to be have their record released early spring 2012. For more information on The River 68’s visit /www.facebook.com/theriver68s. Paul Weller’s Autumn/Winter collection will be in stores and online from November.

 

Leave a Reply

